The Friends of the Truro Meeting House was created by a group of concerned citizens in 2012 to help preserve the 1827 Truro Meeting House and its burial grounds in Truro, Massachusetts. The owner of this historic landmark is the First Congregational Parish of Truro whose roots go back to the establishment in 1709 of Truro’s first Meeting House in North Truro on the Hill of Storms. From its earliest days until 1860, the Parish hosted Town Meetings, as every town was required to provide a meeting house for public assembly before it could be officially recognized as a town.
The Friends is a non-sectarian, 501 (c) (3) organization working with the Parish to undertake a major restoration of the Meeting House from its brick foundation to its king-post roof structure and the classical bell tower with its Paul Revere Foundry bell that gave the church its name, “The Bell Church,” in the early 19th century.
In addition, the Friends works with the Parish to sponsor a variety of public programs that take advantage of the superb acoustics and seating capacity for nearly 200 people. Programs include chamber and folk music along with jazz and pop; lectures and poetry readings, often held in conjunction with the Truro Library; and talks of local and topical interest. In short, the Friends seeks to make this historic gem a more active part of the civic and educational life of our community while working with the Parish and the Town of Truro to preserve the Meeting House for future generations
For this summer’s programs, go to our “Events” page and sign up for email details and updates.
Tours of the historic Meeting House in season:
Contact us to make an appointment.
Website Maintained by: Cape Cod WordPress